Other Nondiscrimination Statues | Fredericksburg Regional Continuum of Care

Adjust the font size: A+ A- A

Striving to develop, promote, and support a continuum of human services and housing opportunities that reduce and prevent homelessness in our community

Other Nondiscrimination Statues

Since the Civil Rights Act of 1964, other nondiscrimination laws have been enacted to expand the range and scope of Title VI coverage and applicablity.

The Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act of 1970

Prohibits unfair and inequitable treatment of persons displaced or whose property will be acquired as a result of federal and federal-aid programs and projects.

The Federal Aid Highway Act of 1973

States that no person shall, on the grounds of sex be excluded from participaton in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal assistance under this title or carried on under this title.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

States that no qualified disabled person shall, solely by reason of his disability, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity that receives or benefits from federal financial assistance. This Act protects qualified individuals from discrimination based on their disability.

The Age Discrimination Act of 1975

States that no person shall, on the basis of age, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance. This act prohibits age discrimination in Federally Assisted Programs.

The Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987. P.L.100-209

Amends Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act to make it clear that discrimination is prohibited throughout an entire agency if any part of the agency receives federal assistance.

The American Disabilities Act (ADA)

Prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities in employment, transportation, public accommodation, communications, and governmental activities.

23 CFR Part 200

Federal Highway Administration regulations: Title VI Program and Related Statutes – Implementation and Review Procedures.

49 CFR Part 21

Nondiscrimination in Federally‐Assisted Programs.

23 CFR Part 450

Federal Highway Administration planning regulations.

23 CFR Part 771

Federal Highway Administration regulations, Environmental Impact Procedures.

In addition to the laws listed above, two executive orders must be taken into account when ensuring compliance with federal nondiscrimination laws, directives, and mandates:

Executive Order 12898

Environmental Justice (February 11, 1994), a presidential mandate to address equity and fairness toward low‐income and minority persons/population. Executive Order 12898 organized and explained the federal government’s commitment to promote Environmental Justice. Each federal agency was directed to review its procedures and make environmental justice part of its mission. U.S. DOT Order 5610.2 (April 15, 1997) expanded upon Executive Order 12898 requirements and describes process for incorporating Environmental Justice principles into DOT programs, policies, and activities. FHWA Order 6640.23 (December 2, 1998) – FHWA Actions to Address Environmental Justice in Minority Populations and Low‐Income Populations.

Executive Order 13166

Limited English Proficiency (August 11, 2000), a presidential directive to federal agencies to ensure people who have limited English proficiency have meaningful access to services. Executive Order 13166 ensures federal agencies and their recipients to improve access for persons with Limited English Proficiency to federally‐conducted and federally assisted programs and activities.